In honor of his 80th birthday, BMOP closes its 23rd season with a selection of works by Boston mainstay John Harbison. Special guest and longtime Harbison collaborator soprano Dawn Upshaw joins BMOP to perform Milosz Songs for Soprano and Orchestra and Symphony No. 6. Violist Marcus Thompson performs Harbison's Concerto for Viola and Orchestra, and the concert opens with Remembering Gatsby (Foxtrot for Orchestra)

Avant-garde classical meets jazz and rock on David Sanford: Black Noise, the latest release from BMOP/sound. The eponymous composition, commissioned by BMOP and premiered in March 2017, takes inspiration from a pastiche of contemporary composers and film. Prayer: in Memoriam Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. honors the life of the civil rights leader and his impact on the composer and the composer's hometown, Pittsburgh. Scherzo Grosso features cello soloist Matt Haimovitz in an orchestral reimagining of the original big band work.

It's new music for a new year, as we are releasing the world premiere recording of The Witch of Endor by William Schuman. This latest release on BMOP/sound includes three of Schuman's collaborations with dancer and choreographer Martha Graham, with Judith, Choreographic Poem and Night Journey rounding out the disc. Start your new year right with this not-to-be-missed disc!

On BMOP's latest release, A Thousand Mountains, A Million Streams, composer Lei Liang paints musical landscapes with a sonic brush. Saxophonist Chien-Kwan Lin embodies a widow's grief during the tumultuous Cultural Revolution in China on Xiaoxiang. Liang and pipa virtuoso Gao Hong simultaneously look back to a rich Chinese tradition and forward to new sounds in Five Seasons.